Ashley gave E! the exclusive of the first details on her upcoming ‘Pan Am’ role!:

It’s always nice to have a backup plan when you’re one of the stars of a megafranchise that’s about to end. For example: Breaking Dawn‘s Ashley Greene is headed to prime-time television.

Greene just booked a three-episode arc on ABC’s Pan Am, but the details surrounding her role have been sparse. Until now.

Greene fills us in on the part, plus she reveals why she chose this as her first post-Twilight Saga gig…

I think Pan Am to me, when I look at it and when I watch it, seems like a mix of movie and TV; it’s not quite a film, it’s not quite TV. And it’s a really interesting thing, kind of along the lines of what HBO does,” Greene says. “I think it’s just very beautifully and well shot. And it’s in the 1960s, and I’ve been wanting to do something like that for a while.

Well, when you’re part of one of the biggest movie series of all time, you tend to be a little too busy to drop in on a television series.

But the Pan Am producers saw their chances when Greene found a space in her schedule after Breaking Dawn: Part 1 premiered.

They approached me probably a week ago and asked if I wanted to be a part of it, and I read this three-episode arc,” Greene told us. “It’s very interesting; it’s different than anything I’ve ever done. So I’m excited.

Greene will play Amanda, a childhood friend of Ted (Michael Mosley). “Their fathers are very good friends and [she] may or may not be romantically interested in him,” she tells us. “But she definitely has a twist. I feel like all of the characters have a twist, and so it was a very interesting character that I haven’t done yet.”

Her first episode, titled “Kiss Kiss Bang Bang,” airs Dec. 4.

Source

Source | Tip via DiarioTwilight

After the show:

Source

imagebam.com imagebam.com

via RPLife

MYSPACE Interview with Ashley Greene!

Fri, 11.18.11 | 7:37:56 am

Interview: ‘Breaking Dawn’s’ Ashley Greene on Bella’s wedding (beautiful), avoiding craft service (impossible), and why filming the birth scene was ‘unintentionally funny’

Sorry girls, not only is Ashley Greene super pretty, but she has to go and be a total sweetheart. Don’t you just hate that? The vampire best friend every ‘Twilight‘ fan wishes she had (or could be) was every bit as sunny and sweet as her onscreen counterpart, Alice Cullen, and just as gorgeous to boot. Below, we chat about some good old girly stuff like Bella’s wedding fashion, plus, she dishes on the cast being “like family,” and reveals why filming the infamous birth scene was “unintentionally funny.” But first, girl talk:

ASHLEY GREENE: I love your hair!
.
MYSPACE: Well, thank you, it’s very easy to do, just pin it all up! I really like your red blouse, it’s pretty.
.
ASHLEY GREENE: (She’s shyly tugging at her shirt) Thank you. Sometimes, I don’t know who they make these things for. Supermodels with longer torsos apparently!

MYSPACE: (laughing – she looks fantastic) No! It looks great! Speaking of fashion, this film had a lot of anticipation around the wedding, and especially the wedding dress. How did you feel seeing the wedding scene for the first time or seeing Kristen in her wedding dress?
.
ASHLEY GREENE: It was very exciting, and, extremely realistic. Honestly, I think part of it is that we’ve become his family and so you know, I do have a relationship with these people and these characters. So you try as an actor, to make it as real as possible and, I mean, it was beautiful and it was very intimate. They kept it, you know, it was kind of a closed set. It definitely affected most of the actors who play the Cullens. So it was kind of a beautiful thing. And seeing Kristen, or Bella, walk down this aisle in this beautiful gown and I mean, she’s stunning, that was a really cool thing to be a part of.
You know, I read the books. I was very excited to see how they did it as well. I didn’t really get to see much of the actual aesthetic of the wedding early. I got to see the dresses beforehand, so I kind of knew about that. But it was all kind of a surprise.
.
MYSPACE: Do you consider yourself more like a girly-girl? Were you really excited about the clothes? I mean, I know you’re a red carpet stunner, but is that a part of your personality?
.
ASHLEY GREENE: I do love fashion – I have an appreciation of it. It’s something that I’ve learned a lot about over the past probably four years, five years, because I grew up in Florida, and wore like jeans and flip flops. But once I was introduced to fashion and different designers and kind of learned and was schooled on fashion, then I became a big fan of it and appreciate it more, because I think that these designers are artists in their right. I love Donna Karan and I just got named the face of DKNY so that’s a good relationship – I went to a couple of fashion shows and started talking and this came out of it, so that was really exciting!
.
MYSPACE: Back to the movie – the story goes from this beautiful wedding scene and honeymoon to a total nightmare. Bella is dying and you know, Kristen’s wearing this crazy zombie makeup to capture that, and all the Cullens are wasting away as well. What was it like seeing Kristen in that makeup for the first time and also what was your experience being a Cullen in starvation mode?
.
ASHLEY GREENE: (laughing) Um, I can’t say I fully committed to the starvation thing!
You would like to be able to say, “Oh, well I’m just going to not eat” but craft services ruins that!
.
Kristen I mean, she just looked unhealthy when she put the prosthetics on! ‘Cause even though you know that they’re prosthetics, you can’t help but think they look like protruding bones and they did a really great job. And so it’s very creepy and I think, you know, you have to use it and allow yourself to think that it’s real and so it was disturbing seeing that. And to think that, you know, Bella’s let herself come to this and she’s still fighting for this child that’s clearly kind of eating away at her. It was, um, certainly, the darkest thing that I think Alice that has to deal with!
.
MYSPACE: Now that Alice and Bella are officially sisters and you got to play around with a protective streak, is there anything in your own personality that you feel you were able to bring to that?
.
ASHLEY GREENE: I think from the very beginning I instantly related to the fact that Alice is so loyal and so dedicated to her family, ’cause I’m very close to my family and they are kind of my whole world and I think she’s the same way. So I think, you know, that kind of crossed over into ‘Breaking Dawn.’ I’m generally pretty optimistic and I am not a violent person, but I think if someone messes with your family, all bets are off. You would kind of go to the ends of the earth to protect them and I certainly relate to that, so it wasn’t really that far off me having to kind of portray that with Alice.
.
MYSPACE: And, it’s not all doom and gloom in the movie, there are some really funny moments in there too. What was one of the fun moments for you on set?
.
ASHLEY GREENE: Oh, gosh, we had a lot of fun doing the dancing!
(Ashley and Jackson bust some pretty impressive ‘Dancing with the Stars’ moves during the wedding celebration)
.
MYSPACE: You really cut a rug with Jackson there!
.
ASHLEY GREENE: Yeah! Thank God I’ve known him for so long. I really do trust him and I think that you have to. Because, you know, we were doing this in heels and it was raining, so it was slick! And he actually has training in swing and all these other things. He knows how to do everything, so that was really helpful for me, ’cause I’d never done any of that style dancing. That was really fun.

What was unintentionally funny for us was filming the actual birthing scene. Because it was so intense that we didn’t really know what to do with ourselves! We were all sitting in this room and it was towards the end of shooting too, so I think we were a little tired. And you know, we were just looking at each other and going like “Are we doing this or? (laughing) you know, and – “How do we? How do you portray this?” And we were all so nervous and there’s cameras right on your face and it was going around and we would film it and then just start cracking up, like “Oh, my God, did this just happen? Did you see that happen?” It was funny to us, but it would never come across that way on screen.
.
Hopefully! (laughing)
.
MYSPACE: Don’t worry – it looks disgusting and terrifying
.
ASHLEY GREENE: Great!
.
MYSPACE: Rapid fire, tell me first concert you ever went to, first CD you ever bought, your favorite music video, the most recent album you bought and the most recent concert you went to.
.
ASHLEY GREENE: Okay, the first concert I ever went to, I think it was, um, not Tim McGraw… Who’s the guy with the alter-ego. He was a country singer… Garth Brooks! That was the first. I don’t know why I blanked on that… That was the first concert I went to — it was like a smaller thing and, it was way before the Chris Gaines thing. I was a huge country fan, see I grew up on dirt roads, so huge country fan.Listen to Garth Brooks radio at: http://www.myspace.com/officialgarthbrooks/radio
.
The first CD I ever bought is Fiona Apple. I mean, I think my parents got me, you know, I had The Little Mermaid and had Beauty and the Beast and everything. But Fiona Apple, I remember really loving that CD as a kid. It’s a really dark CD to like, but it was good music! She’s a really good musician.

Listen to Fiona Apple radio at: http://www.myspace.com/fionaapple/radio
.
The music video I really love, I just re-watched it, it’s really sad, but the Rascal Flatts, What Hurts the Most video. It’s really devastating and it’s so sad and it makes me cry every time, but I think it was just so beautifully done and it was a bit like a movie. Coupled with his voice being so incredible, it just always moves me and so that’s one of my favorite music videos:

The last album I bought was by Adele, and the last concert I went to was actually, the Clinton Foundation Concert. It was so cool, the mix of people they had, that was incredible. I really like going to shows like that, because they play four songs and it’s, you know, such a variety of different artists, so that’s the last one.
.
MYSPACE: Very cool, good list!
.
ASHLEY GREENE: Thanks!
Source

Fans of the “Twilight” movies – Twihards – can tell you: Don’t be fooled and think that Alice Cullen is soft. Sure, she’s petite, and she has that short pixieish haircut and a killer fashion sense – but this vampire won’t back down from a fight.

The same can be said of Ashley Greene. In the past four years of “Twilight” movies, she has become a breakout star, a cover girl and a fan favorite in portraying the beloved Alice, the sister of Edward and BFF of Bella.

Just don’t misjudge Greene because you’ve seen her on the cover of Glamour or Cosmopolitan with the face and figure of a model with long, flowing brown hair.

This is a gal who gave one of her first crushes a bloody lip while showing off her taekwondo skills.

I was always a big tomboy. I was always wanting to do what my older brother was doing, and I was always following him around trying to be better than him – which was hard to do – but it made me super-competitive,” said Greene in a phone interview last week.

My mom tried to put me into dance, and I just had to tell her: Look, (my brother is) into martial arts, and that’s what I want to be into.

She said she’s appreciated the opportunity to create nuances for the character of Alice that aren’t found in the book – and that fans who are as passionate as those for “Twilight” have gone along with those subtle changes.

You create your own world,” she said of her vision of Alice, which she has worked to create with the film’s four different directors. “I’ve enjoyed some of the things that I’ve been able to create, and maybe the most recognizable is the baseball scene (from the first film, “Twilight,” with Alice on the mound exhibiting her full windup for the Cullen family batters).

When my leg went up in the air (while pitching), that was not something planned, but it just sort of came along, and people really talked about that, (because they know Alice) as this girl who’s supposed to be so dainty and comes from this ballerina background.

Her favorite scene in “Breaking Dawn-Part 1,” the fourth film in the series opening Friday, should be obvious. The wedding of Bella to Edward is a centerpiece of the film, and the spunky, whimsical Alice is tasked with designing everything – right down to Bella’s wardrobe for the honeymoon.

Alice did good,” Greene said with a chuckle. “It was just so special and so beautiful. And the dancing, that was so good. Jackson (Rathbone, who plays Jasper, Alice’s soulmate) is just so skilled as a dancer that it made it that much more fun.

Greene is prepared to move on to non-Alice roles, but she assures that she hasn’t seen the last of her “Twilight” family. “Throughout this process, I’ve grown up quite a bit, and I’ve grown up with these people, and that’s a good thing,” she said.

We’re the type of people that when we started this, we would hang out between films, and that’s one of the things that hasn’t changed. It’s been a really fulfilling process to be part of something this large and the (this? ) life-changing, and to do (it? ) in the way that we’ve all been able to get along. It’s really been a blessing.

Ashley Greene will be best known for her portrayals of Alice Cullen in the “Twilight” films for some time. But her first movie in which she has the leading role comes next year in a movie directed by Tulsa native filmmaker Todd Lincoln.

“Apparition,” the first feature film directed by the co-founder of the long-running Tulsa Overground Film Festival, is a supernatural thriller in which Greene stars with Sebastian Stan (“Gossip Girl”) and Tom Felton (Draco Malfoy in the “Harry Potter” movies).

We just got a release date for ‘Apparition’ for Aug. 24 (2012). I really loved working with Todd, and I was very grateful for him being involved in my first movie in which I’m the top name above the credits,” Greene said.

Working with him was fun, because he was so passionate, and he was so committed to it not as much being a horror film as much as it being a great thriller. He would talk to us about films like ‘Poltergeist’ and ‘Rosemary’s Baby,’ about films that aren’t so much gory but that are disturbing.”

As for it being my first studio leading role, I’m equally excited and terrified. But I’ve seen the finished product, and now I’m excited for everyone else to see it too.

Original Print Headline: Don’t judge a girl by her character

Source

STRICTLYCINEMA.COM:

If an actor is lucky enough, they may in their career get to play a character twice if a film does well enough to warrant a sequel. But for Ashley Greene, whose star in Hollywood began to rise with the smashing success of the first “Twilight” film in 2008, playing Alice Cullen has not only become an exciting gig,  but an exhilarating way of life.
The thing that’s been thrilling for me as an actor is having the chance to develop Alice throughout each installment and add layers to the foundation that was created,” Greene said in a recent interview. “I got to add a lot of different elements to her in the first part of ‘Breaking Dawn’ because she’s in a much darker place.
“Breaking Dawn — Part 1,” which opens in theaters nationwide Friday just after midnight, marks the fourth film in “The Twilight Saga” for Greene and her fellow stars Robert Pattinson, Kristen Stewart and Taylor Lautner.
The first in the two-part finale of the film series, “Part 1” finally finds vampire Edward Cullen (Pattinson) meeting his human love, Bella Swan (Stewart) at the altar, despite the jealousy of Jacob Black (Lautner), a werewolf who has long-competed with Edward for Bella’s love.
But things become far more complicated when Bella becomes pregnant during the couple’s honeymoon, as she carries a half-vampire, half-human child who poses a threat to both the wolf pack and the vampire clan.
Worse yet, the pregnancy is taking a near-fatal toll on Bella, which plunges Alice into turmoil because the presence of the unborn baby has rendered the vampire powerless to see the future of her best friend.
That was fun to show that side of Alice because we’ve never really seen her frustrated, torn and have this inner battle of what she should do. She either has to support her sister-in-law or tell her that she’s crazy for allowing herself to deteriorate in front of everyone’s eyes,” Greene said. “Plus you see Alice  form an alliance with unlikely people. There’s a lot more going on with her than in any of the previous ‘Twilight’ films.
Everyone’s Best Friend
While the characters of Edward, Bella and Jacob have always been the primary focus of author Stephenie Meyer’s “Twilight” book series, the films have yielded some unexpected results as Alice has become a big fan favorite. The character’s popularity is fine with Greene, who admits she was a big fan of Alice dating back to the books.
This whole franchise has been full of surprises — and fun surprises,” Greene said. “I always loved Alice, even before I had seen the script or was cast in the role, because she was always this perky ray of sunshine and a little sassy sometimes. I understand how fans relate to her because she essentially is that best friend that everybody wants.
With the end of the “Twilight” film in sight, Greene is finding herself racked by mixed emotions. For all intents and purposes, Greene is done with the film series since the first and second half of “Breaking Dawn” filmed back-to-back, yet she knows she’ll at least to get to gather with her cast mates a few more times about a year from now when she does press before “Breaking Dawn — Part 2” hits theaters.
So in a way, Greene lamented, the last day of filming wasn’t really a goodbye, but a pre-mourning period nonetheless.

The last day on the set is something that’s hard to describe. Definitely it was emotional, and I had no way to prepare for that. You know the end is coming but you can’t ignore it,” Greene said.  “On one hand, you think, ‘I’ve been shooting for seven months and now I can sleep,’ but then I was like, ‘Oh, wait, we’re not coming back to this and I’ve shelved the character for good. That’s tough because Alice has essentially become a piece of my life and my world.

Source

PART I | PART II

+ + + +

Ashley and co-stars Sarah Clarke and Jackson Rathbone were on hand for the Twilight Saga: ‘Breaking Dawn Part 1’ premiere at the Winter Garden Theatre on November 17, 2011 in Toronto, Canada.

+ + + +